Advanced search: focus your search using the filters below...

run advanced search


Governors' Portal

The Board of Governors

The Board of Governors is responsible for the strategic direction of Westminster Adult Education Service, with particular emphasis on staffing, financial management, curriculum policy.

Board of Governors' Meetings

Board meetings 2018-2019

Dates of Board and Committee meetings 2018-19 – Click here
11 December 2018 - Minutes
2 April 2019 - Minutes
9 July 2019 - Minutes

Minutes are uploaded following Board approval.

Board Meetings 2017-2018

5 December 2017 – Minutes
20 March 2018 – Minutes
3 July 2018 – Minutes

Are you interested in becoming a governor?

Do you have an interest in education and training?

Do you want to help young people and adults of today develop into active and successful members of the community?

If so, we would be delighted to hear from you.

We are looking for individuals with a passion for education to join our Board of Governors and contribute to our drive to continue improving services for our learners and the local community.

All applications will be considered but we are currently particularly keen to recruit individuals with specific skills, knowledge and experience in:

  • property development and planning
  • professional and financial services
  • working with businesses

As a member of our Board you will have the opportunity to help shape our mission, strategic direction, values and ethos. If you are interested; please send your expression of interest and a brief CV or summary of professional experience to the clerk


Meet the Board of Governors

Ms Carolyn Keen
Chair of the Board of Governors
Westminster City Council Nominee Governor

Carolyn is a former student of WAES. Her professional background is in arts and disability policy, with a special interest in education. A past Chair of The St Marylebone Society she served as a City of Westminster Councillor chairing various committees including education, health, arts, planning and the Westminster Faith Exchange. Carolyn is a Trustee of The Philological Foundation, a small educational charity giving grants to students and schools in Westminster and Camden.

Mr Richard Frost
Vice Chair of the Board of Governors
Chair of Performance Review Committee
Westminster City Council Nominee Governor

Richard is the School Secretary and Planning Director at London Business School. He has 25 years’ experience working in finance and administrative roles in the Higher and Further Education sectors. He has also served as the Chair of a school Governing Body.

Ms Arinola Edeh
Principal and Head of Service

Arinola is Principal and Head of Service of Westminster Adult Education Service and serves as a Governor of the Board in that capacity.

Ms Ellie Botti
Co-opted Governor

Ellie is experienced in skills and workforce development with a proven history of employer engagement. While at the London Central Learning and Skills Council, Ellie was the sector lead for Hospitality, Leisure, Travel and Tourism (HLTT). She was a member of the steering group tasked with the preparation of the LDA 2005-2008 HLTT Skills and Employment Action Plan. Ellie is currently working for the V&A as NVQ Assessor and mentor to young apprentices employed in the Creative and Cultural sectors.

Ms Maysie Brown
Staff Governor

Maysie is a Course Leader with WAES within the Apprenticeship and Professional Pathways Department. She is a tutor and IQA for Childcare, Health and Social Care. She was a Governor for Eardley School in Wandsworth for 8 years.

Councillor Lorraine Dean
Westminster City Council Nominee Governor

Lorraine is the City of Westminster Deputy Cabinet Member for Family Services and Public Health and represents the Little Venice Ward. She works teaching disabled young adults at the City of Westminster College and has interests in education, social services and disability issues.

Nordeen (Deen) Fahmy
Staff Governor

Deen is the Head of External Partnerships at WAES and has been an employee of Westminster City Council since May 2018. Prior to joining the Adult Education Service he was in the Regeneration & Economic Development team within Westminster City Council, focusing on employment and skills related partnership management. Deen has a passion for lifelong learning and has spent a substantial amount of his career doing extra-curricular learning and on NVQ courses. Deen is also a lifelong local to WAES’ Amberley Road Centre.

Councillor Matt Noble
Westminster City Council Nominee Governor

Matt is a City of Westminster Councillor for Church Street, and sits on the management committee of the Church Street Ward Neighbourhood Forum. He has experience as an adult learner through gaining an Open University Law degree in 2015. Professionally, he has worked in the property sector in the City of Westminster since 2005.

Mr Tomasz Patzer
Chair of Resources Committee
Westminster City Council Nominee Governor

Tomasz is a Member of the Board and serves as a Chair of Resources Committee. He qualified from the City Law School and the Association of Chartered Certified Accountants, is a Member of the Honourable Society of the Middle Temple and is a Fellow Chartered Certified Accountant.

Mr Jordan Philips
Co-opted Governor

Jordan is a Civil Servant in Central Government and has primarily worked on domestic and EU affairs. He has a passion for lifelong learning and is currently continuing his higher education at the University of London. He also volunteers as an English Literature tutor with the Access Project and previously taught English in Montevideo, Uruguay.


Dr Samer Taslaq
Co-opted Governor

Samer is a locum general practitioner working in practices in Westminster and Kensington and Chelsea. He qualified from Imperial College London in 2004 and is a Member of the Royal College of General Practitioners, and the Royal College of Surgeons.

Ms Jane Hadsel
Clerk to Board of Governors

Jane Hadsel
Clerk to the Board of Governors
Westminister Adult Education Service
219 Lisson Grove
London NW8 8LW
Telephone: 020 7641 3368 / Email:



Content of this popup to be provided by WAES.